Sabbatical Is Over! 

Quite frankly, I’m absolutely disgusted with myself.

As you may remember, I previously posted a blog titled “Looking Back on 2014 & Bookish Resolutions for 2015“. This post included fanciful promises such as “I will post more frequently”. We’re almost halfway through the year and unfortunately, I haven’t managed to stick to any of my resolutions.

However, that doesn’t mean I don’t have a valid excuse. In fact I’ve been pretty busy over the past few months, including leaving my internship and bagging myself a new (and paid) job. As you can imagine, this new role has taken up quite a lot of time and energy, hence my recent absence from this very blog. What I can say is that I’m extremely proud to be doing something I really enjoy and it gives me a great sense of achievement. If you would like to find out more about me professionally and what I do, don’t be afraid to head over to my LinkedIn and get in touch.

In other news, I also travelled to India. We spent the first couple of nights in the capital, Mumbai before heading off to my home state, Gujarat. Whilst I have visited the country before it was still a huge culture shock. Mumbai sees a constant hustle and bustle, drivers driving like maniacs and constant smog in the air. Despite this, I found it to be an exceptionally vibrant city, and particularly enjoyed myself after visiting Juhu Beach and the Gateway to India.

ind

Juhu Beach and The Taj Hotel, Mumbai

 

Gujarat also has its subjective charm. Having not had the best experience in my previous visit to the country, I particularly enjoyed myself this time around, perhaps because I knew what to expect.

With almost over 15 hours of travelling to and from India, it was certainly an excellent opportunity to catch up with my reading!  There are plenty of books that I bought and read during my time. Here is just a small selection of the books I’ve acquired over the past few months.

  1. book haulThe Alchemist  – Paulo Coelho
  2. The Extraordinary Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Arthur Conan Doyle
  3. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
  4. A Room With a View – E.M. Forster
  5. Outlander: Cross Stitch – Diana Gabaldon
  6. Kim – Rudyard Kipling
  7. The Elites –Natasha Ngan
  8. Frankenstein  – Mary Shelley
  9. The War of the Worlds  – H.G. Wells

Kindle Purchases:

  1. The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton
  2. The Little Shop of Hopes and Dreams – Fiona Harper
  3. Enchantress (The Evermen Saga, Book 1) – James Maxwell
  4. Rose Under Fire – Elizabeth Wein

So now, I have decided to take a break from short blogosphere sabbatical and I’m back, with the determination to keep this blog going!

One thought on “ Sabbatical Is Over! 

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2015… | bittenbythelitbug

Leave a Reply

