Quote of the Day: “There are only the pursued, the pursuing…”

“There are only the pursued, the pursuing, the busy, and the tired.”

– F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby is one of my absolute favourite novels. It contains so many incredible passages so don’t be surprised if another line from this amazing novel pops up on my Quote of the Day. But for now, I want to focus on this short yet very effective line.

Having just recently graduated from university, I’m in the midst of pursuing a career, one in which I simply wish to be happy in. It got me thinking that at times we are all of these things, pursuing our dreams, whether it is a job, wealth or even love.  Whether we ever reach those dreams is another question. And from pursuing these dreams we become busy and tired. So what’s the point in it all? I’ll leave that up to you to decide, my dear readers…

And that concludes todays session of reflection and pessimism.

B xx

Leave a Reply

